In 1968, the Evangelical United Brethren Church merged with the Methodist Episcopal Church and the new United Methodist Church was formed. The merger resulted in two separate seminaries in the Chicago area, an impractical arrangement at best. In 1974, the two seminaries merged and relocated to the campus of Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois and the current seminary is Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary.